Motor Vehicle Laws (digest): Unlawful to drive at speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under conditions then existing, and speed greater than the following limits is prima facie evidence of unlawful driving: 20 mph in a business district; 25 mph in any residential district; elsewhere, 45 mph for passenger vehicles, 35 mph for trucks, and 30 mph for trucks or tractors with trailers. Local and temporary exceptions are indicted by signs. Traffic in cities and towns is regulated by local ordinance.
National uniform code applies for operation of motorcars on state highways. Comity rule prevails for operation of cars carrying licenses obtained outside of North Carolina, every holder of an out-of-state license receives the same courtesy that the state issuing the license grants to the holder of a North Carolina license. Drivers’ licenses are required. A person who engages in any gainful employment or who establishes a residence in North Carolina must procure license for all vehicles registered in his or her name at the time of employment is accepted or residence established. Minimum age 16 years if application is signed by parent or guardian, otherwise 18. Hand signals must be used; spotlights are permitted; accidents must be reported to some civil authority.
Prohibited: Coasting in neutral, parking on highways, use of stickers on windshields or windows, passing school bus when loading or unloading.
Fishing Licenses: Issued by clerks of the superior courts and various other persons. Nonresident, $5.10; nonresident daily permit, $1.10; state resident, $2.10; state resident daily permit, $.60; county resident, $1.10. License requirements extend to both sexes above the age of 16. Licenses are not required to fish in Atlantic Ocean, the sounds, or other large bodies of water near the seacoast which do not need to be stocked or protected (inquire locally). Landowners and minor members of their families may fish on their own lands without licenses. For size and bag limits see state hunting and fishing laws.
Liquor Regulations: Several of the counties have established package liquor stores under county option. Except in a few localities it is lawful to sell beer and ale not exceeding 5% alcoholic content by weight, and both natural and fortified wine, the latter not exceeding 24% alcoholic content by volume.
From North Carolina: a guide to the Old North State, a Federal Writers’ Project book published by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1937. The Federal Writers’ Project of North Carolina was started in October 1935 in Asheville. District offices were established later in seven other cities of the state. The book is online at: