Monday, May 15, 2017

Names Drawn for Jury Duty in Dare County Include 11 Women, 1948

The Coastland Times, Manteo, N.C., published Friday, May 7, 1948. Women on the jury…this made the front page of the newspaper.

11 Women to Serve on Dare Jury This Month

Names of 11 women have been drawn for jury service at the term of Dare Superior Court which convenes May 24th at Manteo. They are Mrs. Nellie Prigden of Nags Head, Miss Virgie Perry of Kitty Hawk, Mrs. Katherine Midgett and Mrs Edna Gray of Buxton, Mrs. Sophia T. Evans, Mrs. Vivian Ryder of Manteo, Mrs. Walter Beacham of Kitty Hawk, Mrs. Florine Hoper and Mrs. Lula Hooper of Stumpy Point, Mrs. Lillian Daniels of Wanchese, and Mrs. Mamie Midgett of Avon.

Men drawn for duty are: Jennings Midgett of Rodanthe, Jepp Gamiel of Colington, Shank Austin Holmes Gaskine and Dan Oden of Hatteras; Spurgeon Meekins of Stumpy Point; Lonnie Sears, W.R. Knight, Norwood Stowe, Sam E. Midgett and Rev. John Alfred Farrow of Manteo; Bunyan Williams of Frisco; L. Douglas of Salvo; Charlie Spruill of Duck; Adolphus Hines of Kitty Hawk; Clarence Midgett Sr. of Waves; Dallas Tillett and Bart Garrison of Wanchese; Cary Gray of Avon; A.B. Tillett and Alvey Gard of Manns Harbor; S.C. Basnight of Mashoes; Jim Rogers of Colington; and Hooker Creef and Cleve Smith of East Lake.

No comments:

Post a Comment